Mama Needs a ‘Time Out’.

I have found that one of the most challenging parts of staying home with the kids is that they are on completely different schedules. Of course this will get easier as they grow, but some days (like today) it sucks the life out of me.

Hubs got home this afternoon, took one look at me and said “woah, you look like you had a rough day…”. Running through my brain was something along the lines of… Oh, you don’t say? Surely it’s not because I haven’t showered? Or because I have puke, pee and drool covering 70% of my clothing? No. No way. And of course it has nothing to do with the two tiny, ravenous, teething little darlings that I have been keeping alive all day.  I know, I know, most people would love to be in the position to be yelled at, ignored, cried for and climbed on by a toddler all while nursing a baby… but today it’s just not doing it for me. Instead, I managed to say “mhmm”.

Kohden takes 2 sometimes 3 naps per day and Aadie takes 1 if I’m lucky. But they almost never overlap with each other. I feel like I am playing a constant game of don’t wake your brother/sister with them. Of course I have a bag of tricks when it comes to this…. quiet activities, books, stickers or outside play tend to be enough to keep Aadie happy while Kohden is napping, and when Aadie naps she goes out hard core so Kohden doesn’t really ever wake her. Today, the stars were aligning…. they were both going to nap at the same time!!! Except, Aadie decided she didn’t want to nap. And sure enough, she didn’t. I tried ALL THE BRIBES.  I love bribes, and usually they totally work with her, but after multiple “I need a tissue” “I need to go potty” “Mommy, tuck me in” …. I called it quits and let her come downstairs.

I usually hold out longer than I did today, but Kohden just started napping in his room in his crib and I knew if she kept it up she would wake him up. Anyway… She proceeded to lose her mind when I told her that she could not watch tv or a movie because she was “too tired” to play or read or craft. It was a super fun afternoon of a very overtired toddler trying to figure out her limits. Kohdy boy on the other hand had his best nap ever and made me SO proud!

I am definitely not too proud to admit that on these days I need a break.   Not a long one.  Just enough to check email, maybe eat lunch or drink a 2nd (or 3rd) cup of coffee without 4 little hands accidentally knocking or batting away what ever is in my hands.

I ended up putting myself in ‘time out’.  I made sure that Aadie was safe and I removed myself from the room.  I ended up quickly checking and responding to a couple of emails and taking a few deep breaths.  I was able to level set and remind myself that this is OK.  She is learning and that I need to remain peaceful and calm and help her navigate the situation.  It isn’t always easy, but life lessons often aren’t. Whats that cheesy saying?  The days are long but the years fly by. Yeah! I am feeling that to the max right now.  When did my baby girl turn into a hormonal preteen? Just kidding, she’s 2. But sometimes I can’t tell the difference.  And my sweet boy is about to be 6 months old!!! HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE??  Time is tricky and can definitely mess with you.

Speaking of time…Both kids are now peacefully sleeping in their beds and hubs and decided it is time to destroy leftover vegan cheesecake that I made yesterday to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Good night everyone! Here’s hoping that tomorrow is a better day 😉

Bex copy

7 thoughts on “Mama Needs a ‘Time Out’.

  1. Ugh … those days… Yeah. Time out for sure – but I like the term “sanity break.” Sometimes I take mine in the bathroom, but my 18mo always breaks into and stops that because she’s so dang clingy! I’m glad you got some time to clear your head. Sometimes we do need that!!!
    God, motherhood is so tough sometimes, isn’t it?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I like that term better! That’s exactly what it is. Mine join me in the bathroom now too. My son even walks his walker to the door and rams it until I open it. 😂
      Motherhood is hands down the most difficult thing I’ve ever done!

      Like

Leave a Reply

